Public Service Broadcasting, Every Valley album release on the way

Public Service Broadcasting, Every ValleyPublic Service Broadcasting are the kind of band you can’t really pigeon-hole. The London duo cross the boundaries between alt, art and electronica like they don’t exist and with the latest single, Progress (feat. Tracyanne Campbell), mixing indie-pop with electronica and sampling, it sounds like J. Willgoose, Esq. and Wrigglesworth will be broadening their horizons even further on upcoming album, Every Valley.

The track is getting a lot of air play at the moment, so it’s already starting to set the scene for the new record release and with the critical acclaim for their last album, The Race For Space, it should be up there with the best recordings of the year. The band has also got a couple of huge support gigs coming up in 2017, sharing the bill with Flaming Lips, which has had its own big album release earlier in the year with Oczy Mlodie. You can see more details on the band’s Live Music page –


Release date

Every Valley will be out on the 7th July 2017 and available on CD, 180g vinyl and digital download. There are also some cool t-shirt, poster and mug bundles available on the Public Service Broadcasting store, which you can see in the pic below:

Public Service Broadcasting Every Valley t-shirt, mug and poster bundle


The lead single released by the band is the brilliant Progress, which features the silky vocals of Camera Obscura’s Tracyanne Campbell, and came out on the 9th March 2017. It starts out with an 80s style guitar melody, but soon throws in samples to bridge the divide between the past, present and future. There are fleeting hints at Daft Punk inspiration, but they’re just skirting the fringes of the alt rock base for the song. There’s an uplifting mid section that delivers skying, jangly electric rhythm before kicking into the heights of the chorus.

Public Service Broadcasting, Progress (feat. Tracyanne Campbell) music video:

Track list:

  1. Every Valley
  2. The Pit
  3. People Will Always Need Coal
  4. Progress (featuring Tracyanne Campbell)
  5. Go to the Road
  6. All Out
  7. Turn No More (featuring James Dean Bradfield)
  8. They Gave Me a Lamp (featuring Haiku Salut)
  9. You + Me (featuring Lisa Jên Brown)
  10. Mother of the Village
  11. Take Me Home

First impressions

We’re expecting big things from Every Valley, which should help to cement Public Service Broadcasting as one of the most progressive bands at the cutting edge coal face of modern music. With a theme that centres on the mines of the Welsh Valleys, acting as a metaphor for wider issues that are affecting disenfranchised people within society today, you can see the heart and soul that Willgoose and Wrigglesworth have put into the album, so it should be well worth a listen when it comes out. You can read more on the theme at Willgoose’s blog.

The addition of vocals from Tracyanne Campbell, James Dean Bradfield, Derbyshire’s Haiku Salut and Welsh singer Lisa Jên Brown only adds to the potential of the album, especially with the strength of the lead single above. With the 2 album preview nights at the Ebbw Vale Institute in the Welsh Valleys already sold out, 2017 is looking like it’s going to give at least a little of itself to Public Service Broadcasting.

By Gerard Harris


Share the details for Public Service Broadcastings’ Every Valley album release with: