Mac DeMarco’s New album This Old Dog out May 5th

Mac DeMarco, This Old DogJust in time to solidify itself as the official sound track to your summer, Canadian multi-instrumentalist and multimedia artist Mac DeMarco announced earlier this year that his newest album This Old Dog will be released May 5th.

Breaking out as a solo artist in 2012 with his album length EP Rock and Roll Nightclub and the more contemporary follow up album 2, he’s on the cusp of returning stronger than ever. DeMarco enamoured critics and fans alike with his jangly and glazed over pop sound influenced by the likes of Steely Dan, John Lennon and Walter TV to name a few. 2014 saw the release of DeMarco’s sophomore album Salad Days, receiving critical acclaim and international fame. DeMarco’s popularity grew immensely with constant touring, festivals and small commercial releases like 2 and Salad Days Demos and the mini LP Another One in 2015.


Two years on from his last release, Mac is back and he’s grown up a little. Earlier this year DeMarco released the first two tracks from his upcoming album, My Old Man and the title track This Old Dog (check out the official music video below). The tracks show a return to form from Mac DeMarco presenting his lo-fi folk rock style in a more polished manner. Both tracks show a more mature side, while still holding all the elements of what made his previous releases so great. Sticking with his analogue production style and thoughtful, introspective lyrics DeMarco creates a bittersweet soundtrack for the millennial generation.

This Old Dog music video:

Soon after the announcement of This Old Dog and the release of the first two tracks DeMarco graced us with another few teases from the thirteen track album. He first dropped another cut from the LP, On the Level a smooth sister track to Chamber of Reflection from the Salad Days album. The song shows Mac at his most introspective, with themes of self-reliance and the relationship with DeMarcos father featuring heavily throughout. He then released a music video for This Old Dog directed by DeMarco himself. Most recently Mac dropped yet another hot lick off the thirteen track album titled One More Love Song. A slick groove featuring clean piano melodies and glazed over synths which proves that This Old Dog is going to be something special.

DeMarco announced he will be doing a world tour to promote the album and will be joined by The Flaming Lips for part of the tour. This Old Dog is due for release on May 5th via Captured Tracks.

This Old Dog track list

1. My Old Man
2. This Old Dog
3. Baby You’re Out
4. For the First Time
5. One Another
6. Still Beating
7. Sister
8. Dreams from Yesterday
9. A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes
10. One More Love Song
11. On the Level
12. Moonlight on the River
13. Watching Him Fade Away

By Kenji Abe


Share the details for Mac DeMarco’s This Old Dog album release with: