Depeche Mode, Spirit album release on its way


Depeche Mode, SpiritBritish electro-bombers, Depeche Mode, are about to hit back with new album Spirit, which will be the fourteenth studio record release since the band formed in the early 1980s. Dave Gehan, Martin Gore and Andy Fletcher have also announced a 34 date European tour, but with just one stop off in the UK at the London Stadium in East London on the 3rd June 2017.

Release date

The new album will be out on the 17th March 2017, a little under four years since the band’s last release, Delta Machine, back in 2013. The standard 12-track version of Spirit will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download, but there will also be a 2-CD deluxe version with five remixes (called the Jungle Spirit Remixes) and a 28-page booklet featuring exclusive artwork and photos.

A deluxe version is also available on digital download, which will include the five remix tracks. The vinyl release comes on two 180 gram LPs covering the standard album and it has a Spirit etching on the fourth side.


Opening single, Where’s The Revolution, tackles the political mess that has dominated in the US and UK over the years, reaching its current fever pitch madness. Calling out the lies of politicians, the myopic tendencies of society, religious zeal and the insidious nature of extreme nationalism, it’s a dark tour de force that asks a lot.

It’s all cast over a low synth soundscape with a cool slow pick reverb-laced electric guitar riff. The chorus is big and stacked with impact, which is no small task when you consider the fact that it features the lyrics “Where’s the revolution?”, but contrary to what you might think initially there’s nothing cliched about the track. Instead, it’s a stand up shout of frustration done in a very Depeche Mode kind of way, which is very easy to associate with. Take a listen to the audio video below to hear it for yourself and you can follow Depeche Mode on Twitter for the latest on the album and tour.

Where’s The Revolution audio music video:

Spirit tracklist (standard and deluxe):

  1. Going Backwards
  2. Where’s The Revolution
  3. The Worst Crime
  4. Scum
  5. You Move
  6. Cover Me
  7. Eternal
  8. Poison Heart
  9. So Much Love
  10. Poorman
  11. No More (This Is The Last Time)
  12. Fail

Disc 2 (Deluxe only) – Jungle Spirit Mixes

  1. Cover Me (Alt Out)
  2. Scum (Frenetic Mix)
  3. Poison Heart (Tripped Mix)
  4. Fail (Cinematic Cut)
  5. So Much Love (Machine Mix)

First impressions

It’s never easy bringing political and social issues into music, so there’s a big challenge for Depeche Mode to deliver an album that works well in itself, while also getting across the frustrated message that seems to be at the heart of Where’s The Revolution. If the opening single is anything to go by, Spirit should be an impressive new album from the band.

Share the details for Depeche Mode’s Spirit album release with:

Spirit album artwork:

Depeche Mode, Spirit album artwork


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here